Preparing for the Next Big Adventure


When Scott took a job with Rolls-Royce of North America in Indianapolis, we always knew there was a possibility that we would be given an opportunity to go to England for a year. The “secondment” program is one that allows team members to travel “across the pond” and really get to know the organization. We never thought it would happen so quickly, but we are now preparing to go live in Derby, England (pronounced Darby for my American friends) at the beginning of 2013. It will only be for one year, but reality is setting in. We have so many decisions to make.

First and foremost, what are we going to do about school for the boys. Well, that one is actually easier than we ever imagined because Indiana has a program called “Indiana Online School” that will allow us to keep the boys caught up and on grade level while we are there. Homeschooling through this program was never on my radar, but I take comfort in the fact that God knows my strengths and weaknesses and will provide me the tools I need to make this happen.

Then the question is what “stuff” can we take with us and what has to stay behind. The cars have to stay behind, but long-term storage for a vehicle is not necessarily a good thing. We have to keep making payments on them and keep the insurance current, but what can we do to make sure that we have working vehicles when we get back? We are still contemplating that one. But then, Scott tells me last night that because of some unusual customs laws in England, some of our household goods are not permitted. My mind is reeling right now.

I can’t work in England because I won’t be able to get a work visa, but I can still work on my business and God has blessed me with an awesome boss that is willing to explore what we can do to ensure I have something available when I get back.  In the meantime, we are pressing onward!

I have been reflecting a lot over the past few weeks as to what God has in store for us and how we can use this season of our lives to glorify Him.  We are exploring lots of ways to serve Him and we will see where the road takes us……only He knows what His ultimate plan is for all of us.  We are trusting Him.

Those who know your name trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you. – Psalm 9:10

Leave a Reply

