How do people do this everyday?


So I am finding out that blogging is hard.  The writing part isn’t difficult, but the finding something to write about part is.  I have looked at Plinky and I follow the Daily Prompts, but nothing has really struck me as something that I have ANYTHING to say about.  What does that say about me?

Last year I took the Meyers-Briggs test for the first time in about 20 years.  When I was a young adult I tended to lean to the “I” side.  Now as a 40-something adult, I lean more to the “E” side.  Most people would think that means that I am boisterous and have a lot to say, but lately I have found myself more introspective and wary of sharing my opinions.  (I think that has a little bit to do with this horrible election cycle we just went through.  Everyone has been so nasty that I have found myself just wanting to be silent during it all.)

A colleague of mine recently took my MBTI type (ESFP) and pointed me to a website that describes me pretty well (www.keirsey.com/4temps/performer.asp).  There were some things in this description that really surprised me, but when I think about it are spot on.  Here is a snippet of it:

Performers have the special ability, even among the Artisans, to delight those around them with their warmth, their good humor, and with their often extraordinary skills in music, comedy, and drama. Whether on the job, with friends, or with their families, Performers are exciting and full of fun, and their great social interest lies in stimulating those around them to take a break from work and worry, to lighten up and enjoy life.

Really? Is this how I am?

The best thing about being described this way is finding out what other people in our history fit this description.  There are a lot of ESFPs out there and many of them go on to become famous/infamous because of our need to bring pleasure, optimism and laughter to others.  Here are just a few of the ESFPs that we have all known and loved.

 

Okay – seriously?  Can I say that I am anything like Elvis Presley, Marilyn Monroe, or Ronald Reagan?  Some of the others include Bill Clinton, Judy Garland and Pablo Picasso!  HA!  I don’t have a creative bone in my body!  But I do love to PERFORM!  Let someone else create it – give me a stage and a mic and I will speak, sing (not dance), and do just about anything I can to bring joy to someone’s day.

So now I am blogging.  This isn’t a stage, or is it?  I don’t have a mic, or do I?  No one is listening, or are they?  Why do I need an audience, maybe I don’t?  Can I find a creative bone in my body?

I still have this burning question – how do people do this everyday?  Maybe I will find the answer as I follow some of my fellow bloggers and learn from them.

3 thoughts on “How do people do this everyday?

  1. Blogging every day guarantees you wll – once you’ve mad the commitment you really let yourself down if you don’t keep at it.
    After a while it is easy – really. Like jogging everyday. Just you have to have different projects on the go all the time.
    One short blog that’ll you’ll get done for the day or tomorrow, plus a longer one you are working on through a few days –
    otherwise you constantly produce short, cheapish posts..

Leave a Reply

