An Unexpected Change of Plans


This sucks!  I am so disappointed right now – I can’t even function.  How do we tell the kids?  Our world has been turned upside down and I am having a hard time letting it all go.  (I realize that this issue is nothing compared to those that the people of Newtown are dealing with right now but it is still disappointing and it still pisses me off.)

So, who knew that you had to be employed with the same company for 12 months before you could get a work visa for England?  I am sure somebody knew.  We didn’t.   You would think that my husband’s employer would have known that before turning our lives upside down for the past couple of months. AAAGGGHHH!

So our secondment to the UK is off indefinitely.  It could potentially come back up as an option in June, but until then we are still here in Indiana.  Don’t get me wrong, I like it here.  We have made a couple of friends and found a great church.  But when we found out we were moving to England we stopped being as intentional in our new relationships, more so out of time constraints with all the things we needed to do than anything else.   We also stopped looking for sitters/child care providers.  My husband and I haven’t had a date night in so long that we don’t even know what that looks like anymore.  We put our “Indiana” lives on hold only to be hung up on instead of getting the answer we were expecting.

Thankfully, our landlord allowed us to stay in our lease.  Thankfully, my employer said that I still have a job.  Thankfully, the boys are still in a good school that they love and are doing well.  Thankfully, we have a good pediatrician that understands the challenges that come with raising boys.

Pray for us and pray for all the people around the world that are hurting.  The hurt may be as devastating as losing a child or it may be simply a change of events, but it is still hurt and we still need to pray for each other and with each other.  I will refer to one of my favorite blogs that I re-blogged  a couple of weeks ago in that I hope to move forward after this experience worshiping even when I am disappointed, and repent of the sin of stress and worry leaving all of that hurt and the residuals of that stress at the feet of Jesus.

We do have so much to be thankful for, and as we prepare to celebrate Christmas, I am going to do all I can to turn this around and make the best of this for our family.

7 thoughts on “An Unexpected Change of Plans

  1. well said chica! as it may not be the same… i understand the feeling of having your life turned upside down and not going to england 😉
    lots of love to you!!! i miss your hugs!

Leave a Reply

